Spain opens borders to 12 third countries and excludes Algeria, Morocco and China

Updated: Jul 21, 2020

From 4th July, Spain is allowing entry to residents from 12 of the 15 countries agreed by the EU Council. The full list of countries is as follows: Algeria, Australia, Canadá, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China. Spain will reopen borders with Morocco, Algeria and China if there is reciprocity.

There is no mandatory quarantine period, although health checks are conducted on arrival. Restrictions on travel between regions in Spain have lifted, but regional authorities may implement local confinement measures at short notice. Follow the advice of local authorities.

The government of Catalonia announced on Saturday that the county of Segria will be placed under lockdown to try to contain the spread of COVID-19.

Galician authorities reimposed a lockdown in La Mariña, located in Lugo province due to a rise in coronavirus disease cases in the area on Sunday, July 5th. The lockdown is initially set to remain in place until Friday, July 10th

To reduce the general risk of COVID-19 transmission, travelers are advised to abide by the following measures:

  • Frequently clean hands by using alcohol-based hand rub or soap and water.

  • When coughing and sneezing, cover mouth and nose with a flexed elbow or tissue; if used, throw the tissue away immediately and wash hands.

If experiencing a fever, cough, difficulty breathing, or any other symptoms suggestive of respiratory illness, including pneumonia, call emergency services before going to the doctor or hospital to prevent the potential spread of the disease.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Latest travel restrictions in France, Italy and UK.

Update France will from August 9th enforce new legislation that will make a health pass compulsory to board a plane or travel on an inter-city train. The pass has already been obligatory from July 21s

From 19 July, most restrictions will be lifted.

From 19th July, most COVID-19 restrictions will be lifted. Border controls, quarantine, testing, and self-isolation for positive COVID-19 cases and close contacts remain. From Monday 19th July you wil