Over 150 Countries Impose Travel Restrictions On Spain.

Updated: Dec 29, 2020

Following the decision from the UK, to impose a 14-day quarantine on all travellers arriving in this country from Spain, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs has updated the map with all nations where there are travel restrictions due to the coronavirus pandemic. In total,165 countries have established some type of restriction on travellers from Spain.

The first brings together those who have established some type of ban on people from Spain or have suspended air and sea communications. It is the most numerous and the list includes countries from the four continents, practically all of Africa and almost the entire American continent. The main countries are Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, the US, Guatemala, Israel, Japan, Morocco, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, South Africa, Uruguay and Venezuela.

The second group is made up of those who impose some type of quarantine for travellers originating from Spain, mainly in Asia, although Ireland, the UK and the Netherlands are also included. Other countries such as Cambodia, South Korea, Ecuador, Finland, India, Iran, Norway or Russia, among others, complete the list.

The third list recorded by Foreign Affairs refers to nations with other types of travel measures, including Bulgaria, Cameroon, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Tunisia, Turkey and Ukraine.

The Government has set up a series of checks for travellers entering Spain:

  • All passengers arriving by air or sea must undergo a temperature check, which must be below 37.5 degrees Celsius. Shipping companies can take passengers’ temperature before arriving at a Spanish port.

  • All travellers must fill in a public health form, online at www.spth.gob.es, or using the free app SPAIN TRAVEL HEALTH (SpTH). After completing the form, passengers will obtain a QR code which they must present on arrival in Spain.

  • A transitional period until 31 July has been established, in which international passengers who were unable to fill in the public health form online may present it on paper when they arrive in Spain.

  • Any passengers who are suspected of carrying COVID-19 or another contagious disease will be subjected to another health assessment, which will include taking their temperature again and evaluating their clinical and epidemiological health. If an infectious disease is confirmed, the traveller will be taken to a medical centre.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2020 For the Love of Art by Irene Ortega Tabuenca.