Might Europeans be allowed to travel to the U.S. soon?

Updated: Jul 21, 2020


Europeans from countries with low rates of Coronavirus infections may soon be eligible to travel to the United States, President Donald Trump hinted at a press conference.

While presenting the fifth proclamation barring entry into the US for foreign nationals who were physically present in Brazil within 14 days preceding their entry or attempted entry into the United States, Trump told journalists that entry to the country would soon be possible for some travelers from Europe.

We’ll be doing certain announcements on other countries, including Europe as we move along. And where they’re making progress, we’ll start to open it up. But only where they’re making progress. They’re making good progress. I think we’re making very good progress,” Trump said.

At the beginning of the Coronavirus outbreak in the US, on March 11, President Trump signed a third proclamation suspending entry into the United States of aliens who were physically present in the Schengen Area within the two weeks preceding their entry or attempted entry into the US.  The proclamation became effective on March 13.

The proclamation had caused polemics among both US and European diplomats. And while the EU accused Trump of making decisions “without any consolation” with the block prior to making the announcement on the ban, the block then moved on to close its borders to all non-EU nationals on March 17.

More than two months later, both the EU and the US keep its borders closed to each other. About half of the EU countries also have in force entry bans for fellow EU citizens. The rest of the member states have been abolishing these restrictions over the past two weeks.

Greece has decided to open its borders for several EU and non-EU countries in which the rate of infections has decreased from June 15, which countries are: Albania, Australia, Austria, Northern Macedonia, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Switzerland, Estonia, Japan, Israel, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Romania, New Zealand, Norway, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Finland.

Besides, starting from June 15, Norwegians wishing to travel to Denmark for whatever purpose will be able to do so after two months of border closure between the two Nordic states. Danes will also be able to travel to Norway after both countries have agreed to reopen for tourist trips between the two countries from mid- June.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2020 For the Love of Art by Irene Ortega Tabuenca.